Bjp: BJP rides Rio speedwagon in Nagaland | India News

The Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party-BJP alliance has got a clear majority in Nagaland, winning 37 of 60 seats, and is set for a second term.
Though there were hiccups in the run-up to the polls, with some BJP workers publicly expressing unhappiness over the allotment of twice as many seats to NDPP, the results show an emphatic win for the alliance, with chief minister Neiphiu Rio’s NDPP winning 25 seats (of 40) and BJP getting 12 (of 20).
The Naga Peoples Front (NPF), the single largest party in the last election with 26 seats, is now the biggest loser, dwindling to just two. Congress, which ruled the state till 2003, could not even open its account yet again.
One interesting feature of the 2023 polls in Nagaland is the surprise show of newbie political parties, which are rooted in the Hindi belt and Maharashtra.
Lok Janshakti Party (Ram Vilas) and Republican Party of India (Athawale) won two seats each on debut, while Nationalist Congress Party grabbed seven seats. Janata Dal (United), an old player in Nagaland politics, won just one seat.


The 2023 polls also scripted history — two women have been elected to the assembly for the first time. Both of them are from NDPP and greenhorns in politics — Hekani Jakhalu (DimapurIII) and Salhoutuonuo Kruse (Western Angami).
Unlike Tripura and Meghalaya, there were no upsets in Nagaland. CM Rio of NDPP registered a thumping victory in Northern Angami II seat, while deputy CM Y Patton won Tuyi, Nagaland BJP president Temjen Imna Along won Alongtaki and former CM TR Zeliang won Peren convincingly.

#Bjp #BJP #rides #Rio #speedwagon #Nagaland #India #News

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button